New College of Florida Brilliantly Unique; Uniquely Brilliant

News Release (December 14, 1965)


Material Information

News Release (December 14, 1965)
Alternate Title:
New College News Release, For Immediate Release: December 14, 1965
Physical Description:
New College of Florida
New College of Florida
Place of Publication:
Sarasota, Fla.
Creation Date:
December 14, 1965


Subjects / Keywords:
History -- New College (Sarasota, Fla.)
Planning -- New College (Sarasota, Fla.)
Records and correspondence -- New College (Sarasota, Fla.)
government publication (state, provincial, terriorial, dependent)   ( marcgt )
News release
Spatial Coverage:
United States -- Florida -- Sarasota


General Note:
Three page news release.
Source of Description:
This bibliographic record is available under the Creative Commons CC0 public domain dedication. The New College of Florida Libraries, as creator of this bibliographic record, has waived all rights to it worldwide under copyright law, including all related and neighboring rights, to the extent allowed by law.

Record Information

Source Institution:
New College of Florida
Holding Location:
New College of Florida
Rights Management:
Before photographing or publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the New College Archives, and the holder of the copyright, if not New College of Florida.
System ID:

This item is only available as the following downloads:

Full Text


/ ,.,NEW COLLEGE NEWS RELEASE NEW COLLEGE, SARASOTA, FLORIDA FURMAN C. ARTHUR INFORMATION For Immediate Release: December 14, 1965 After months of study, discussions, and finally elections, the New College student government has been established on campus. Nine members have been chosen to serve on a Student Executive Committee (SEC) \vhich is the ruling governmental body for student affairs. addition, a College Council has been named from among students, faculty, and staff to serve as a coordinating body for the three campus groups. Election of the nine students to the SEC climaxes a year-long period in which students have ruled themselves under an interim form of government while a special study group deliberately went to \vork on special problems of a Ne\v College student government. Now in effect is SEC which gives equal representation to the two classes now in the undergraduate body. The Committee is headed by a chairman who serves four weeks and then gives way to another. Only other officer in the government structure is a secretary. Ray Enslow of Peoria, Ill., is the first chairman. One of the five Charter Scholars of New College, he has been instrumental in the student government dur-ing the entire period of development. Tim Dunsworth of St. Louis Park, Minn., serves as secretary to the committee. Representing the second year students in addition to Enslow and Dunsworth, are William Chadwick, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Charles Hamilton, Glen Ellyn, Ill.; and Karle Prendergast, Northampton, Mass. -more-


NEH COLLEGE STUDENT GOVERNMENT Page 2 First year students serving with the SEC are David Allen, Shreveport, La.; Stephen Hall, and Kanji Oda, both of Chicago, Ill.; and Stephen Waterman, East Point, Ga. By the same overwhelming vote of the student body that brought SEC to life its responsibilities also were voted. The Committee must make codes and regulations regarding student life, carry out their enforcement, and also handle all disciplinary functions. The faculty provides two advisers to the committee,Arthur rtiller and Samuel Black. Robert J. Norwine, director of the office of student affairs, also serves in an advisory capacity. To serve on the SEC, each class elects four representatives. One person from the student body is elected to serve at large. Terms are for one year. The other body set up primarily to provide communication and liaison, the New College Council is composed of three SEC members, selected because they received the greatest number of votes in the general election, plus three faculty representatives, and two members of the administration. Enslow, Allen, and Hamilton represent the SEC. President John Elmendorf and Student Affairs Director Norwine are represented along with faculty members Samuel Black, Earl Friesen, and Arthur Miller. Demonstrating a businesslike attitude toward their new duties, SEC members appointed a Disciplinary Committee as the first order of business. They appointed SEC members, Chadwick and Hall, to it and then added Denby Barnett, of Phoenix, Ariz.; Vicki Pearthree of Wise.; and Roy Van Vleck of Montclair, N.J. -more-


NEH COLLEGE STUDENT GOVERNMENT Page 3 Also named was the Supervisory Committee handles all student balloting, including election, referendum, and recall procedures. Besides SEC members Hall and Oda, serving on the committee are Tom Manteuffel, Rock Island, Ill.; Nancy Redick, McLean, Va.; and Jane Schlicker, Higley, Arizona. -30-

Facebook Twitter YouTube Regulations - Careers - Contact UsA-Z Index - Google+

New College of Florida  •  5800 Bay Shore Road  •  Sarasota, FL 34243  •  (941) 487-5000